Skip to main content

The obligation to remove foreign nuclear weapons

Within 90 days after becoming a state party to the TPNW, Belgium, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, and Türkiye would be obliged to ensure the removal of the US nuclear weapons that they currently host on their territory. The United States is the only state known to station nuclear weapons in other countries today, while Russia and the United Kingdom also did so in the past.

Ban Monitor 2022 Remove foreign nuclear weapons NTB KO62 Tm Pnn Rk
Demonstration in front of the World Conference Center in Bonn, during the federal delegates conference of the German party Die Gruenen [The Greens], 14–16 October 2022. Photo: IMAGO/NTB