Skip to main content

The prohibition on assistance, encouragement, or inducement

The prohibition on assistance, encouragement, or inducement of prohibited activities is the provision of the TPNW that is contravened by the greatest number of states. A total of 38 states—all states not party to the TPNW—aided and abetted other states’ nuclear-weapons programmes in 2022. This was two more than in the previous year, with Finland and Sweden as the new states.

Ban Monitor 2022 Assistance South Korea NTB d KC Xsk VU Nw8
US President Joe Biden and South Korean President Yoon Suk Yeol, left, during a visit to the Air Operations Center on Osan Air Base in South Korea, 19 October 2022. Photo: Photo by Doug Mills/The New York Times/NTB
Ban Monitor 2022 Steadfast Noon NTB jq UYR Qg Wv7o
A Belgian F-16 jet fighter takes part in NATO’s annual nuclear strike drill ‘Steadfast Noon’ at the Kleine-Brogel air base in Belgium on 18 October 2022. Photo: Photo by Kenzo Tribouillard/AFP/NTB

Object and purpose of the TPNW

Ban Monitor 2022 missile tesing NTB M0 9 K Gc Hr80
In this photo released by the Defense Visual Information Distribution Service, an unarmed Minuteman 3 intercontinental ballistic missile launches during an operational test at Vandenberg Space Force Base in California on 7 September 2022. The missile blasted off from the coastal base at 1:13 a.m. and was destined for the Kwajalein Atoll in the Marshall Islands. Photo: Photo by Ryan Quijas/U.S. Air Force via AP/NTB

Ban Monitor 2022 NTB Qc7s O Quk Uo
NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg speaks at a press conference on 29 June 2022 during a NATO summit in Madrid where the 2022 Strategic Concept was adopted. Photo: Shutterstock/NTB
Alliance membership and the TPNW

Ban Monitor 2022 Key components financing NTB DC Pj T Msintw
Visitors walk past missile exhibits by French Defence company MBDA at the Farnborough Air Show, on 18 July 2022, at Farnborough, England. Photo: Richard Baker/In Pictures via Getty Images
Corporate and state responsibility

Tab J
The TPNW and financing

Ban Monitor 2022 Valduc
A screengrab from a video on the France-UK Teutates Programme website shows an experiment hall at the EPURE testing facilty in Valduc, France.